Archive for January 3rd, 2016

What I Learned From One-Night Stands

January 3, 2016

Racking up sexual partners wasn’t about being a slut, it was about discovering the importance of true intimacy

I had a very important decision to make in my early twenties. No, it wasn’t about grad school, or accepting a job far from home. It was about my sexual future.

In high school, my inexperienced friends and I imagined and talked about what it would be like to be sexually active. We agreed that a good number of bed partners would be anywhere between one and six. So, if my first boyfriend was the love of my life, then I’d be limited to one partner. If not, I figured I’d better find the love of my life within the next five or so partners, otherwise I would be what the girls in school called a slut. I just couldn’t have a “high number.” My number couldn’t ever reach double digits. (more…)

